EU1, my first impressions ramble

radek

Ahoy

After playing a couple of days and nights and nights, I decided to share my thoughts on EU1 gameplay ;) I'm pretty new to arma multiplayer, so this just my feedback.

I have played many nice missions on AW, and have met remarkable soldiers, leaders, or just role-playing folks. I enjoy AW, as it has this casual feel, is open to everyone (the server is full for most of prime time!)

Any criticism here, is just my rational opinion on the gameplay and how I see it. Even if nothing would change (now I'm really looking forward to the upcoming IA3 release), AW is where i spend my arma-time.

The IA mission system

It's a wonderful baseline set of features (what else to say in it's birthplace, right?). What I miss is the "annex - and defend/hold" phase, which I understand is in the system, but is switched off at least on EU1. As all of this is probably going to mix/change a lot this weekend in IA3, up to the more general topics next...

Command/Comms

I really miss TFAR - or generally TS usage. I hate the ingame VON, which can't be split from the sound effects, into a headset. You cannot opt-out of channels, you cannot opt-in. That led to muting the side chat...

Either way, it seems everyone just became allergic to the VON usage, even for useful info. But the text chat is so lame. it's too small, too short, too distracting, cluttered and inefficient. Relaying important information about coordination, enemy positions or imminent threats is very cumbersome.

Also the discrete separation of map layers is annoying - see the chaos in LZ designation/in-vehicle picking, random marking deletion/spam or just missing info because you switched to the wrong layer by mistake comma dot comma dot dot dot damn...

Classes, weapons, difficulty