Ferg's Gaming Dev Thread

fergie

[h3]Introduction[/h3]

Like most people who spent their childhood with friends, staring at a CRT monitor or television, I have the ambition to create something I love: A computer game! You may remember me talking about learning a language to help me fulfil my ambition of producing a computer game, whilst some of Java was fairly straight forward, I found it very difficult to stay enthusiastic towards learning it, simply because I wasn't seeing the results I wanted to see fast enough.

Most Programmers would scoff when I state that I have moved onto using Game maker studio to produce my game ideas saying that "real game designers" would do all the coding from "scratch" and that my impatience meant I would never be a real game programmer. The fact of the matter is that I'm not a programmer, I learned this quickly in Java. What I am however, is an artist and whilst game maker studio helps me with programming the game to do what I envision, the graphics, level design, story line and scripting is entirely produced from my brain using nothing more than stationary and Photoshop!

So this thread is something to keep me moving along with my project, each time this thread is updated I will talk about what I have done and what you will see next, the thread will be in chronological order and all additions to the post will be headed with the date and time they were posted!

[h3]The Plan[/h3]

So I thought I would tell you a bit about the game I am creating, I don't want to ruin the surprise of the game, so I've tried my best to include enough detail to give you the gist of the game without revealing too much!