Connecting a Controller

Mad Eye Moody

I have been a Radio Control pilot for over 40 years, I fly helicopters, fixed wing, racing drones, 1/5 scale cars both line of sight and first person view at public shows and competitions. I would like to connect my RC Tx to the game rather than use a joystick. Can this be done? Has anyone connected a Taranis X9Plus and if so how? If not then I will need to fork out for a simple joystick I suppose! 

I'd highly recommend you use your mouse and keyboard to fly.

A majority of the most respected pilots in ArmA use M/Kb, despite having full HOTAS crazy setups for games like DCS. Game is just built for M/Kb

If you want peripherals, the best investment is arguably a set of pedals and a head tracking system.

3 hours ago, Amentes said:

I'd highly recommend you use your mouse and keyboard to fly.

A majority of the most respected pilots in ArmA use M/Kb, despite having full HOTAS crazy setups for games like DCS. Game is just built for M/Kb

If you want peripherals, the best investment is arguably a set of pedals and a head tracking system.

I agree on the head tracking and pedals, but it's not because some of the most respected pilots in ArmA use M/Kb that it's necessarily the best option. When you're used to a controller, taking the controls with M/Kb feels completely unnatural. YMMV and all that. :)

That being said, I have almost 2 decades of experience with those "full HOTAS crazy setups", without ever having any problems, but no matter what I try, I just can't make it feel right in ArmA either, so I'm using a middle way: keyboard buttons for throttle up / down, the joystick on a Logitech G13 for pitch / roll, and pedals for yaw. In terms of controller motion vs input, I'm guessing the G13 stick might be somewhat similar to what Mad Eye Moody knows from his RC flying, so if he can get it hooked up, he could do just fine.