AWE/MSO Bootcamp Mission

tecHunt

Question

After playing a bit on AWE and first time on MSO, I'm still pretty new to a lot of mods and approaches.

I've played some roles and looked at what I found in the forums.

Problem is:

1. reading and actually knowing what you're doing are 2 different things
  2. setting up a testing environment in the editor is not that straight forward

I would like to have a sort of boot camp where there's a proper introduction for the different roles.

It could even branch out to teach people, who already know the basics, more advanced things (which probably already happens, but in cliques the general public might not have access to)

What I'd personally like to see:

• How to use mortar effectively
  • Building sweeping
  • Basic commands / how to handle a squad
  • Proper map reading
  • other stuff you would like to see / know about

To do this every time a new member joins would be a waste, so my idea is to set up a doodle.com (or similar) where 1-2 people who know those roles can say when they're available and when enough people sign up for a date, lead a mission.

10 answers to this question

Oh man.

Ok, so in the past this has been done, and there's currently a scenario floating around that's pretty close to being finished, for this purpose.

The issue here is it's been tried, and people didn't actually show up for it. What we've learned is that the playerbase has historically preferred learning as they go, on the job as it were.

We have several users, myself, included, who would be happy to provide instruction and/or round-table discussions, but most of those same people, myself included, are also a bit burned out with trying to set it up and not see any interest.

As it stands, if a group of people was to ask for this, I'd be happy to oblige, but I'd expect a commitment from those people to actually be there at the agreed upon time.

you can run around and learn as you go, but some things you can't just learn that way.