Vehicle Theft Prevention

Aegis_RVIR

Question

So, after a good while of not being alive I returned to the land of the living.

After a bit of thinking and exploring free steam games, I stumbled on Planetside 2 (Hold on to your drinks for a moment) and it had a system in place I am pretty sure that I found a system that prevented your vehicles to be stolen. Now, I am no programmer and I have no clue if this is even possible to implement, but here we go:

• When you enter an unclaimed vehicle, you "claim" it. Preventing others from entering.
  • When a certain menu is openend, you get 3 options: Closed, group only and open.
    • Closed prevents anyone except you to enter
    • Group only allows group members (duh)
    • Open allows..... Do I need to say it? [YES].... it allows anyone to enter.
  • after a certain amount of time (Different per vehicle?) the vehicle gets unclaimed

Feedback please!

(just remember, my brain is still a bit fuzzy so I might not be the brightest around)

18 answers to this question

Many of the GTA can be prevented. U painstakingly drive to AO just for somebody to jump in and drive it straight into enemy's armour or anti tank team.

More scripting needs to be done but a good 5mins to reset the vehicles' status is fair.

1) Troll goes in base, enters all vehicles and locks them all up to himself

2) Watches the world burn

The only situation where I would see this being useful is in the (future) reward system where the vehicle would be automatically locked for a few minutes to the person/group that spawn it.

30 minutes ago, Lost Bullet said:

1) Troll goes in base, enters all vehicles and locks them all up to himself

2) Watches the world burn

The only situation where I would see this being useful is in the (future) reward system where the vehicle would be automatically locked for a few minutes to the person/group that spawn it.