FSG Gunner & Squad Coms

oberKGBler

Hi guys,

Im new to Arma 3 and after some try and error only play on your server (my game-nick is Grim). You guys have a really nice community, always someone willing to give a noob like me some help.

Now to my 3. Question.

Yesterday I tried to play as FSG Gunner for the first time. Worked well so far (didnt kill my own guys with the few rounds i fired), but how do you guys handle communication with the squads?
As I see it with my limited experience you have 3 ways to spot fire missions for the mortar.

- direct line of sight
- UAV operator
- Squads on the ground

I would like to communicate with the squad leaders to recieve fire missions and to warn squads for incoming shells.

Do you guys use the command channel for that?

Handling the mortar alone is quite a task. Especially at the spawn when I have to do at least two trips to a transport vehicle without have it taken between the trips. (and after waiting to spawn one)
Wouldn´t it be a good idea to have an assistant gunner? I know from other topics that the FSG slots are often open but you could give the assistant gunner a rifleman kit so he could be played as one when the slots get fuller.

The benefit for mortarhandling would be huge as:

-one guy could handle the vehicle while the Gunner is loading up the mortar
-you can transport the mortar in one go from the vehicle to the firing position
-you could use the assistant gunner as forward observer in a covered firing postion
-the assitant gunner can defend the firing position when engaging from close distance (like i did last night...was quite suprised when those guy spawned in front of me :D )

Flare rounds seem to have very little effect. I guess the night lighting settings cant be adjusted a bit?

thx in advance
sry for my english...

P.S.: cudos for the callsign DEATHSTAR! :D