Separate and differentiate Spotters and Marksmen

Amentes

Question

In a nutshell, currently Spotters and Marksmen are functionally the same thing. I'd suggest limiting the Marksmen to weapons in the range of MXM and to just shy of .338, thus reserving the large-caliber Marksman-DLC weaponry for the Spotters.

I feel this would fit well with the current limiting of weapons for most other classes.

Spotters currently can't run Ghillies, which would be lovely to see a fix for.

20 answers to this question

Agree on the ghillies.

As for the loadout:

I'm no expert by any means, but I always thought one of the tasks spotters are assigned is to be the sniper's close range protection? If so, shouldn't that limit their gear to standard rifles, with an optional grenade launcher if desired?

So something like...

Spotter: assault rifles (MX, Kathiba, Mk20, ...), up to medium range optics (RCO and the likes)

Marksman: medium-range rifles (MXM, Mk-I EMR, Mk18, ...), medium or long range scopes

Sniper: long-range or large-caliber rifles (MAR-10, M320, GM6), long range scopes

The way I see it, this would require a DM/S to have someone close to protect him from threats nearby, thus (hopefully) increasing team play?

I'm agreeing more with Eagle-Eye here, the spotter's job is to spot (duh) for the sniper, and having access to UGL weapons would help with marking targets. I think the spotter should only have access to standard assault rifles (and give him a ghillie suit).

Marksman should be able to use MAR-10s etc as it's needed for them to fulfill their role, and I don't think Mk18 etc weapons are sufficient for that.

All well and good, but we all know that roles aren't used that way on #1 and #2 :)

I'm not gonna try to pull the real world down over this, in my experience, that's never a good solution.

I'm interested in differentiating them from each other while also keeping both different from the regular infantry roles.