Multiple connections from same public IP

X3ntr

Hey all

I started playing on the AW servers with my brother not that long ago and I was wondering if there are any rules regarding multiple connections from the same public IP. Because sometimes I can't seem to connect or get disconnected whilst my bro is doing just fine.

Thanks in advance and see you on the battlefield!
X3ntr

You can play with your brother from the same IP, our database is based on GUIDs anyway, each client has its own.

As of your actual connection, might have to do something with your router/switch that you use. You might wanna check your router setting, probably something to do with DHCP or you firewall setting on the router.

See this:https://forums.bistudio.com/topic/79471-odd-connect-error-w-multiple-machines-from-same-ip/

and this: https://forums.bistudio.com/topic/111256-2-players-with-same-ip-cant-connect/

The way generic outbound network traffic works is as follows:

- your PC send a request (signal\traffic\packet) into the www
- Inside this packet is a return address as to where the receiving server has to send it's reply to
- This return address is inserted in there by the software that send the packet (in this case arma3) at this point it will be you local network IP (example 10.0.0.5 or 192.168.0.50 etc..)

- Your router\firewall sees this and will change it to your public ip that you got assigned from your ISP (example 82.564.234.1)

- You router will also remember this so when the reply comes, your router will know what local PC (and port) to send this reply to in your network

So the possible faults you might have are:

1 - Your router gets confused when there is too much similar traffic from the same port\protocol, to multiple local PC

2 - Your router NAT system got screwed

3 - Not very likely but theoretically possible: your ISP is also ding some NAT transversal, and somehow screws the return address

Solutions: